BILSTEIN – famous worldwide for cold-rolled strip

What does tradition mean at BILSTEIN? First and foremost, it's our 100 years of trusting relationships with our employees, our high quality standards, the vast know-how and expertise we've acquired, and our unparalleled entrepreneurial vision.

It is our aim to preserve these strengths and to use them to confront the growing challenges posed by global competition. To do this, we are counting on state-of-the-art technology, effective logistics, and experienced, well-trained staff. We are a future-oriented company that remains proud of its roots.
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide

PRODUCTION PROCESS

Thanks to extensive experience and expertise, BILSTEIN can ensure that all stages in the manufacturing chain work in sync—all the way from goods receipt to quality control. By continually updating production technology as well as measurement, control, and data technology, we achieve a high degree of productivity and reproducibility. Through the perfect interplay of these factors in the process chain, we exhaust every facet of the material's potential to deliver perfect cold-rolled strip for our customers.

Hot-strip storage
Being a flexible supplier requires fast access to materials. This is why BILSTEIN maintains its own hot-strip storage in house. The storage, removal, and inventory management of the coils are automated—enabling quick and efficient delivery to our plants. Customers then benefit from fast access to our hot-strip services. In addition, our internal hot-strip logistics network is designed to preserve the quality of the products, ensuring the market's extremely high standards are met from day one.
Hot-strip slitting
We use our own slitting line to cut hot strip to the desired width and, where needed, trim the edges. A high throughput and extremely accurate belt guarantee the performance of the system at all times, and the system always reflects the latest technology. The feeding of the strip into the cutters often takes place fully automatically. Meanwhile, robots handle the cutting and there is no manual intervention whatsoever. Because for us, safety comes first.

Rolling
Strip thickness is reduced in accordance with the mechanical and technical properties required and takes places on two tandem mills with three or four stands. We measure the strip width and profile using X-ray technology, while flatness analysis and hole detection ensure tight, reproducible tolerances along the entire length of the strip, as well as top product quality.

To precision-clean the surfaces, we use an optimized emulsion and high-pressure strip cleaning. During the rolling process, strip feeders and flanged pulleys allow us to optimize strip tension.

What's more, BILSTEIN has one four-high and one thick-roll reversing mill.

Annealing
BILSTEIN uses state-of-the-art, often fully automated annealing technology with high-convection hydrogen annealing. This ensures an even temperature distribution with only slight deviations from the coil volume. We guarantee optimum strip cleanliness alongside very tight mechanical and technical tolerances, zero oxidation, uniform technical values, bright, spotless surfaces, and zero oxidation along the edges. A variety of annealing programs enable us to provide a broad range of quality standards with a high degree of flexibility.

When it comes to heat treatment, we possess integrated, system-specific expertise. The annealing lines, which operate around the clock with batch sizes of 66–88 tons, are automatically controlled, monitored, and logged, ensuring a high degree of accuracy in meeting the desired mechanical and technical values and structures.

Skin-pass rolling
Skin-pass rolling ensures that the steel strip has the exact mechanical and technical properties, thickness, and flatness required, as well as the desired finish and transverse contour. Depending on the specific requirement, we have three four-high mills available for higher-quality temper rolling or thicker strips, and six two-high mills for minimum forming and special surfaces. We use isotopic measuring tools to control the thickness, flat rollers to ensure the evenness of the strip, and a laser system to detect transverse buckling in closed-loop control.


Final slitting
BILSTEIN uses six slitting lines and one cut-to-length line to complete its processing. The strips are slit according to the customer's required thickness and the transverse/longitudinal bow adjusted. Each slitter has special features to serve the complete range of quality standards and dimensions customers need. As well as the usual technology, we have a slitting line with stands that can be positioned and configured to guarantee a parallel blade clearance. A hydraulically inflatable shaft prevents the radial run-out of the blades. Meanwhile, a robotic system determines the cutting combination, which is then automatically applied to the shearing mill. Together with the blade concentricity, this ensures extremely tight strip width tolerances. Each shearing plant is connected to a packaging line, which reduces processing times and means orders are moved quickly on to fulfillment.

Packaging

Our packaging lines are equipped with cutting-edge technology, including the automated transfer of operational data and robotic coil transporters. The system has a double strapping head for steel and plastic straps, which means the correct transverse strapping option is selected according to the thickness and strength of the strap. For steel strapping, TITANARG® welded joints are used. This patented seal, based on the TIG-welding method, is the world's strongest and most secure seal available for steel strapping. Cold strip coils with low thicknesses are transported on plastic conveyor belts to preserve the quality of their edges.

In addition to standard packaging, we can deliver our products to customers in moisture-resistant paper and jute, in wooden crates, or in another type of specially requested packaging.
Warehousing
Our warehouse for finished products allows us to serve our customers quickly and flexibly, and is based on a carefully planned storage and handling concept: as well as area storage, BILSTEIN also has two fully automated high-bay units. Because this provides so much storage space in a relatively small area, we have fast and direct access to every delivery unit, without having to move other consignments out the way first—all but eliminating incidental physical damage to orders. Moreover, climate-controlled storage helps protect the material's surfaces.

First-class quality

State-of-the-art technology focused on precision




Our promise

Only first-rate products guarantee satisfied customers. And this is the standard we set for our company and our production. All BILSTEIN products are subject to rigorous quality controls so that we can meet the scrupulous demands of our customers at home in Germany and abroad.

Quality

Our certifications to IATF 16949:2016 and DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 are testament to our continual process monitoring. State-of-the-art measuring and control systems support the reproducible production of predefined mechanical values, within extremely tight tolerances.

Motivation

Ongoing staff training and a range of initiatives to foster motivation ensure the best possible performance from our employees. If they're happy, we are too!
  • Federstähle / Automotive


    Was haben Federn, Unterlegscheiben, Axiallager, Befestigungselemente, Handsägen, Kupplungen, Gurtlaschen und Gurtschlossteile gemeinsam? All diese Produkte werden auf Basis ...

    mehr erfahren …
  • Mangan-Bor-Stähle


    Die Mangan-Bor-Stähle zählen zu den borlegierten Vergütungsstählen. Diese Sorten zeichnen sich besonders durch eine gute Umformbarkeit im Anlieferungszustand und ...

    mehr erfahren …


BILSTEIN

Latest innovations

Supermod® | Ultramod® | Extramod®

Our electromagnetic cold-rolled strip products are manufactured according to customer requirements and delivered as requested. Our products are used anywhere that demands the need for actuating solutions (controls, switches, valves).

Contact us to find out more!

We look forward to your inquiry.
Do you want to know more about BILSTEIN? Need to speak with someone about an upcoming project? Or maybe you would like a non-binding quote? Our team is always available to provide more information or a comprehensive consultation.

We look forward to hearing from you.
BILSTEIN GmbH & Co. KG

Postfach 51 45
58101 Hagen

Im Weinhof 36
58119 Hagen, Germany

Phone +49 2334 82-0
Fax +49 2334 82-2002
E-Mail
Management Board
BILSTEIN GmbH & Co. KG

Bernd Grumme
Michael Ullrich

Commercial register number
Local court Hagen, HRA 2762

Tax ID no. DE 125 138 802
General Terms and Conditions of Business

BILSTEIN – weltweit bekannt für Kaltband

Wenn wir bei BILSTEIN von Tradition sprechen, dann meinen wir in erster Linie die über 100 Jahre bestehende Verbundenheit zu den Mitarbeitenden, den Anspruch an Qualität, das erworbene Know-how und den unternehmerischen Weitblick.

Diese nachhaltigen Stärken wollen wir bewahren und für die wachsenden Herausforderungen des globalisierten Wettbewerbs nutzen. Dabei setzen wir auf modernste Technologien, effektive Logistik sowie erfahrene und gut ausgebildete Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Wir verstehen uns als zukunftsorientiertes Unternehmen, das stolz auf seine Wurzeln ist.
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide

PRODUKTIONSPROZESS

BILSTEIN kann aufgrund seiner Erfahrung und seiner umfangreichen Expertise gewährleisten, dass sämtliche Schritte in der Fertigungskette – vom Wareneingang bis zur Qualitätskontrolle – aufeinander abgestimmt sind. Durch ständige Aktualisierungen in der Fertigungstechnologie sowie der Mess-, Regel- und Datentechnik erreichen wir ein Höchstmaß an Produktivität und Reproduzierbarkeit. Durch das perfekte Zusammenspiel in der Prozesskette schöpfen wir das maximale Potenzial aus, um das perfekte Kaltband für unsere Kunden zu fertigen.

Warmbandlager
Schneller Materialzugriff ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für hohe Lieferflexibilität. Aus diesem Grund hält BILSTEIN im eigenen Haus einen Warmbandbestand vor. Die Ein- und Auslagerung sowie die Bestandsverwaltung der Warmbandringe erfolgen automatisch. Damit ist eine effiziente und schnelle Versorgung unserer Werke gesichert. Der Kunde profitiert durch den schnellen Zugriff auf unseren Warmbandbestand. Zusätzlich ist unsere interne Warmbandlogistik auf eine qualitätsschonende Behandlung ausgelegt, um den hohen Anforderungen des Marktes von Beginn unserer Produktion an gerecht zu werden.
Warmbandschneiden
Das Warmband wird bei uns auf einer Längsteilanlage (Warmbandschere) auf die optimale Fertigungsbreite zugeschnitten und bei Bedarf an den Kanten besäumt. Hohe Durchsatzleistung und exakter Bandlauf sichern die Leistungsfähigkeit der Anlage. Die Anlage ist technisch auf dem neuesten Stand. Die Zuführung des Bandes in die Schere ist teilweise vollautomatisiert. Roboter übernehmen das Aufschneiden der Bindebänder ohne händische Arbeitsschritte. Damit gehen wir hier auf Nummer sicher.

Vorwalzen
Die Dickenreduzierung orientiert sich an den geforderten mechanisch-technologischen Eigenschaften und erfolgt auf zwei Tandemstraßen mit drei bzw. vier Gerüsten. Wir messen Banddicke und Bandprofil mit Röntgentechnologie, zudem sichern Planlageregelung und Lochdetektoren über die gesamte Bandlänge enge und reproduzierbare Toleranzen und eine hohe Produktqualität.

Mithilfe einer optimierten Emulsion sowie einer Hochdruckbandreinigung können gezielt saubere Oberflächen erreicht werden. Geregelte Bandlaufführungen und Bordscheiben ermöglichen es, Bandzüge während des Walzprozesses zu optimieren.

Darüber hinaus verfügt BILSTEIN über ein Quarto- und ein Reversiergerüst speziell auch für dicke Abmessungen.

Glühen
Bei BILSTEIN steht modernste, teilweise vollautomatisierte Glühtechnologie mit einer Hochkonvektions-Wasserstoffglühe zur Verfügung. Die Glühe erreicht eine gleichmäßige Temperaturverteilung mit lediglich geringen Abweichungen über das Ringvolumen. Wir garantieren beste Bandsauberkeit bei eng tolerierten mechanisch-technologischen Eigenschaften, Oxidationsfreiheit, Gleichmäßigkeit der technologischen Werte, blanke und rückstandsfreie Oberflächen sowie keinerlei Randoxidation. Verschiedene Glühprogramme ermöglichen ein breites Spektrum unterschiedlicher Qualitäten bei hoher Flexibilität.

Bei der Wärmebehandlung überzeugt unser in das System integrierte anlagenspezifisches Know-how. Die rund um die Uhr laufenden Glühreisen mit Losgrößen von 60 bis 80 t werden automatisch geregelt, überwacht und protokolliert, sodass eine hohe Sicherheit bei der Erzielung der gewünschten mechanisch-technologischen Werte und Gefügezustände erreicht wird.

Fertigwalzen
Der Produktionsschritt „Fertigwalzen“ sichert sowohl mechanisch-technologische Eigenschaften als auch die exakte Dicke, die geforderte Planlage, die gewünschte Oberflächenausbildung sowie die Bandkontur in Querrichtung. Je nach Anforderung stehen drei Quarto-Gerüste für höhere Nachwalzgrade bzw. größere Banddicken oder sechs Duo-Gerüste für leichte Umformgrade und spezielle Oberflächen zur Verfügung. Wir verwenden Isotopenmessgeräte zur Dickenregelung, Planlagerollen zur Ebenheitsregelung des Bandes und eine Lasereinrichtung zur Querwölbungserfassung in geschlossenen Regelkreisen.


Fertigschneiden
Auf sechs Längsteil- und einer Querteilanlage werden die produzierten Bänder auf die geforderte Kundenbreite längsgeteilt und mit geforderter Querwölbung bzw. speziellem Längsbogen eingestellt. Jede der Scheren weist spezifische Merkmale auf, um das komplette Güten- und Abmessungsspektrum bedienen zu können. Neben konventioneller Technologie steht ein Scherenständer mit positionierbaren und geregelten Ständern zur Verfügung, um einen parallelen Schneidspalt zu gewährleisten. Eine hydraulisch aufblasbare Welle verhindert dabei den Höhenschlag der Messer. Ein Robotersystem baut die Schneidkombination auf, die dann automatisch in den Scherenständer eingebracht wird. Zusammen mit extremer Rundlaufgenauigkeit der Messer garantiert dies engste Toleranzen der Streifenbreite. An die Scherenanlagen ist jeweils eine Verpackungslinie angebunden, welche eine kurze Durchlaufzeit der Aufträge bis zum Versand ermöglicht.

Verpacken

Die Verpackungslinien sind mit automatischer Datenübernahme aus der Betriebsdatenerfassung inklusive Spaltbandtransporter auf neuestem Stand. Da die Anlage über einen Doppelbindekopf für Stahl- und Kunststoffbänder verfügt, kann immer die für die Bandfestigkeit und Banddicke optimale Quereinbindung gewählt werden. Für Stahlbänder kommt der TITANARG®-Schweißverschluss für die Quereinbindung zur Anwendung. Dieser patentierte, auf dem WIG-Schweißverfahren basierende Verschluss ist heute die sicherste Art der Verschlussbildung für Verpackungsstahlband weltweit. Kaltbandringe mit geringer Banddicke werden auf Kunststofftransportbändern in der Anlage bewegt; somit wird die gute Qualität der Spaltkante erhalten.

Neben den Standardverpackungen können wir auf Kundenwunsch Material entweder in Öl-Krepp und Jute, in Kisten oder in definierten Sonderverpackungen ausliefern.
Fertiglager
Unser Fertiglager ist darauf ausgerichtet, den Kunden schnell und flexibel zu beliefern. Ermöglicht wird das mittels eines durchdachten Lager- und Umschlagskonzeptes: Neben einem Flächenlager verfügt BILSTEIN über zwei vollautomatische Hochregallager. Durch die hohe Lagerdichte auf geringer Grundfläche können wir schnell auf jede Liefereinheit zugreifen, ohne andere Mengen umlagern zu müssen – mechanische Beschädigungen sind dadurch nahezu ausgeschlossen. Die klimatisierte Lagerung trägt darüber hinaus zum Oberflächenschutz des Materials bei.

1A-Qualität

Modernste Technologien mit Präzision im Fokus




Anspruch

Nur erstklassige Produkte garantieren zufriedene Kunden. So definieren wir den Anspruch an unser Unternehmen und unser zielgerichtetes Handeln. Deshalb unterliegen alle BILSTEIN-Produkte strengen Qualitätskontrollen, um höchste Ansprüche unserer Kunden im In- und Ausland zu erfüllen.

Qualität

Die Zertifizierungen nach IATF 16949:2016 und DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 stehen für eine kontinuierliche Prozessüberwachung. An den Anlagen unterstützen moderne Mess- und Regeleinrichtungen die reproduzierbare Fertigung von vorgegebenen Kennwerten in engsten Toleranzen.

Motivation

Zudem sorgt die stetige Förderung der Qualifikation und Motivation unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter für eine Verbesserung der Gesamtleistung. Nur wenn Sie mit uns zufrieden sind, sind wir es auch!


BILSTEIN

Aktuelle Innovationen

Supermod® | Ultramod® | Extramod®

Unsere elektromagnetischen Kaltbandprodukte werden kundenindividuell gefertigt und passgenau geliefert. Zur Anwendung kommen unsere Produkte überall da, wo aktuatorische Lösungen (Regler, Schalter, Ventile) gefragt sind.

Sprechen Sie uns an!

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfragen!
Sie möchten mehr über BILSTEIN erfahren? Benötigen Sie einen Ansprechpartner für ein anstehendes Projekt? Oder wünschen Sie ein unverbindliches Angebot? Unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter stehen Ihnen jederzeit für weiterführende Informationen oder eine kompetente Beratung zur Verfügung.

Wir freuen uns auf Sie.
BILSTEIN GmbH & Co. KG

Postfach 51 45
58101 Hagen

Im Weinhof 36
58119 Hagen

Telefon +49 2334 82-0
Telefax +49 2334 82-2002
E-Mail
Geschäftsführung
BILSTEIN GmbH & Co. KG

Bernd Grumme
Michael Ullrich

Handelsregisternummer
Amtsgericht Hagen, HRA 2762

USt.-IdNr. DE 125 138 802
Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen